Food Beast

Teachers have control…most of the time

Posted on: October 27, 2009

Last Friday I attended an all day meeting at my elementary school.  Teachers from the other elementary school attended the meeting also, and there were about 20 people at the meeting.  It was semi-out of control.  The school that hosts the meeting always provides the snacks.  Well…we don’t mess around when it comes to snacking.  I felt like every half-hour a new snack was being put out.  There were bagels with various spreads, a chocolate chip danish, Dunkin Donuts muffins, a basket of fruit, 2 types of hummus, some type of kettle potato chip (which are sold at Trader Joe’s and I must buy them the next time I am there), and cookies.  I was proud of myself and brought a veggie platter with a dip that I made using fat-free sour cream.

Now, when I attend meetings of this nature, I tend to lose control.  Everyone is talking, eating, we talk some more, we take a break and it is like a free for all.  The food table is crowded with people.  (I tend to find myself at the food table at most gatherings, work and non-work related…hmmm.  I am noticing a pattern here.)  I try to really control myself and not go crazy, but once the afternoon strikes and I am getting stressed, it is basically no holds barred.

Maria, a friend at work, decided to bring in Dunkin Donuts Munchkins.  Now, these are one point each and can easily be devoured in one bite.  Oh no, you say.  Try it the next time you are at Dunkin Donuts.  It CAN be done!  Anyway, Maria also decided to ask for EXTRA chocolate muchkins.  She is clearly the devil.  (Side note: last year Maria had told another teacher who was doing weight watchers with us that 3 munchkins were only 1 point!  Needless to say, Maria had a talking to about trying to sabotage others and their weight loss success.  True Story!)

So, like I said, the afternoon was becoming stressful and Maria clearly could no longer handle it.  She brought the box of munchkins over to the table and we basically popped these puppies in our mouth like m&m candies.  Sad, but true.  Karen has the proof!

You will notice that sitting right in front of me is my leftover lobster bisque soup (which was out of this world.  Thanks Brewster Hill Deli).  I had the rest of that for dinner and it was well worth the 5703284290 points!  I can truly say it was an intense eating day, but those are the best kind!

Leave a comment

Categories